Pride Teaches a Lesson

Pride Teaches a Lesson

Pride. Selfishness. ME. It is amazing how often those traits rear their ugly heads.
Like the time I’m happily moving along, thinking I know what I’m doing, when…BAM! Someone comes along and makes a perfectly reasonable and necessary request that changes MY time schedule. And I get irritated. 
Or the time I think that I am pretty good at my job, but then remember how upset I was in the above incident, and realize how far I have to go. 
Then there is that other time when I thought I came up with a great idea, only to have it not be praised and appreciated, but tweaked or rearranged to better suit the overall picture.
I’m really not good at seeing the overall picture.
But then that comes with only focusing on one small part of the picture. That’s what comes of only thinking of myself.
See, if I was thinking of the whole scene, I would have realized that the change in my task eased the work load for several other people. It also meant that it saved time for a third party. I only thought of this after the fact. 
If I stepped back a little, I would realize that I should always have a meek and humble attitude, and that there will always be something to learn and some way to improve. 
When I even just glance at the entire scenario, it would help me to accept that whatever is done in part needs to be done with the aim of being beneficial to the whole. Even if it means that my idea wasn’t the best one to accomplish that goal.
And ultimately when I distance myself from, well…me, I realize that it’s never about me anyway, in the workplace or anywhere else. It should always be about serving the Heavenly Father. 
I should never forget that any skill or insight I have is a gift from Him, and is to be used for His glory. Pride only stands in the way of that.
So now humility and meekness are on my mind. I need a fresh start, a new day with no mistakes, and a clean slate in order to take things a little more slowly and in the order that God ordains. Him, others, and then myself.
P.S. As a side note, I have always thought that it was silly to add “myself” last, because honestly if you are focusing on the first two in the right way then there probably isn’t time for focusing on myself. Not to mention, Jesus just said to love God and love your neighbor. He didn’t tack “love yourself” on at the end.

Leave a comment